I’m Clingy, So What?

It was the fifth time my college Psychology professor told us that there are two kinds of regrets, (1) regrets from things you have done and said, and (2) things you have not done and have not said. And always, always the latter hurts the most and will haunt you for the rest of your life.

This is the reason why I can’t just keep to myself how much I care and love the people in my circle. I always end up telling them. Every time. Randomly.

And you know what? It feels good to be vocal about your feelings. It’s good to let them know how much you care and love them. It’s good to remind them that even in this busy world, there will always be someone who remembers them. It’s good.

But sometimes, it hurts, too. It hurts because oftentimes you get rejected, you’re taken for granted, you’re being laughed at for being clingy, you’re not appreciated for the little things you do to keep the friendship intact.

It feels good to love and care for people, but it hurts.
It hurts, but you still continue to love and care for them anyway.

Just the fact that you were able to remind people of how much they are loved, that there will always be people who will believe in them, that they will always have someone whom they can lean on, makes everything so worth it.

I was raised by my parents to always express our love and care to everyone because we never know what will happen, we never know how things will turn out in the future. It may be too late for us to tell them that we care and love them. You’ll spend your whole life wondering what would have happened if you had the courage to let it out. Let it out or else you’ll stay hung up in your feelings forever.

I am hopeful to life, hopeful to people.
I don’t care how will they see me for being open about my love and care, I will continue to be vocal about it. Because honestly, sometimes, it’s the “I’m here for you,” “You are prayed,” “Thank you for existing,” “You are loved,” are the words we need to tighten the grip on life.

I don’t want to spend my years staying inside my own shell, protecting my own feelings, hiding everything. No. I want to be honest, open, and hopeful.

And I’ll start it by telling you, “I will be with you when you are at your highest, clapping my hands for you, and I will be with you with arms open when you feel like the world is against you. Yes, I will always be here for you because I care for you. Always have, always will.”

Leave a Reply

