What I Have Discovered About Love

I am a firm believer of magic, fairytales, happy ever after, forever- a believer of love.
It may sound so childish to still believe in those things, but doesn’t we used to believe in them? To dream about our own love story or how the journey of our love life will unfold?

love love and everything about it.
It makes me happy seeing couples who hold hands while walking. I love hearing partners who say I love you to their love one. I never get tired of watching chick flicks movies no matter how predictable it is. I won’t stop listening to love songs. I’ll never get tired of crying every time I finished a romantic book because I still don’t want to let go of the story. I’ll never get tired of listening to my friends love stories no matter how childish and cliche it seems. I won’t stop watching wedding videos and listening to the couple’s wedding vows. Because I love it. I love how people can become soft and gentle when their hearts are full of love. I love everything about love.

16129337_10208394113992572_938165051_o

When I was a child I was excited to grow up to be able to know how it is to love someone. I was so eager to know more about it, to see more of its magic.

And throughout the years this is what I have discovered:

  1. You can fall in love multiple times.

I’ve fallen in love countless of times. I fall every time my father kisses my forehead, every reminder of my mother, and every sweet gesture of my brother. I fall in love with the sunrise and to how the light creeps into the darkness. I fall in love with how the sky flashes its feelings through its color. I fall in love every setting of the sun, of how it gives way for the moon to breathe. I fall in love with the scars carved in my being, they were a bittersweet and beautiful reminder of my past. I fall in love with the smell of the ground after the rain and the taste of my favorite coffee. I fall in love with every hug and kiss, smile and tears, laughter and frowns, “I love you/s” and “I miss you/s,” I share with different people in this world. I fall in love a thousand times in between moments and million times before. I may not able to remember when the first time was, but I knew it was also magical. You don’t only fall in love with people, you fall in love with every little thing that composes this world.

  1. Love hurts.

I’ve seen how love ruined people, of how it took away others lives; of how it broke many hearts; of how many lungs were intoxicated and lips were burned. I’ve seen people suffer because of it. Love hurts, and love heals. Through raging storms and wild winds, we forgot that love stayed as it is. Those times when we feel love left us, it was only just around the corner, looking at us, whispers- “I’m sorry.” And these are the times I choose to let love invade me because I know, it has nothing to do with my pain. It has always been the circumstances and the person involved. And I’m sorry I will never blame love for it. So, no matter how painful it brings, I will always choose to love in all possible ways. Love hurts… No, love is not supposed to hurt, it heals. I, too, have been hurt because of love. For all the tears, pain, and scars left by love, it doesn’t make me love it less. And every time love appears in front of me, I just can’t stop myself from falling for it.

  1. Sometimes, the love you give won’t be reciprocated, and that’s okay.

One of the things my parents taught me is to love fully and unapologetically. Sometimes people will fail to reciprocate the love you’re giving them and it hurts. So much. But, that’s not the very reason why you choose to love, right? You love them because you love them., and not because you are expecting something in return. Yes, we yearn to feel appreciated and loved, who doesn’t? I, too, longs for that. But, I was reminded of God’s love, that no matter how many times we reject His love, He still accepts and continues to love us more each passing day. I am not saying you have to stay in an unrequited love, but you have to accept that the person doesn’t love you the way you want to be loved. Acceptance is part of loving.

  1. Continue to love, anyway.

I just can see any other way to live, but to love everything, even the messiest part of love. Because the truth is, it’s love that makes this world more beautiful.

There maybe days that love seems too out of reach, but love never fails to come closer, again. It’s the most beautiful thing about it, it doesn’t leave. It stays. Always knocking at your door, and it’s up to you if you’ll welcome it.

16144935_10208394114032573_634839193_o

And I am looking forward to more love moments with people, with life, and with the universe. I will continue to love fully, loudly, boldly, and unafraid. I will always choose to love. Because when you love, you become kind, gentle, and soft.

What I Have Discovered About Love

Leave a Reply

